I Can Only Imagine

HeavenSeveral years back, I was asked to sing at a funeral.  I couldn’t imagine why I was chosen among so many great vocalists that were in attendance, because I am not by any means what I would consider a good singer.  I found out later that before this precious lady passed, she had mentioned how much she loved hearing me sing in church when I was a small child… so I was asked to sing when she passed.  As nervous as I was, it was truly an honor, because this lady embodied what it was like to be a Christ follower.

I had about 24 hours to determine what I would sing, so that I could coordinate with the band and rehearse a time or two.  This lady was an “old school” piano playing, gospel music loving, lady of The Lord.  So, I should sing a hymn.  Which one?  Amazing Grace!  Everyone knows that one.  But… I really can’t remember a funeral I have been to where Amazing Grace wasn’t performed.  Plus, I’m not the only person singing today, and they might want that song…

“I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By Your side

I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When Your face
Is before me

I can only imagine.”

I settled on this song because to me, it really spelled out how is lady lived her life.  She lived it with no fear… Only fear of The Lord.  She truly was one of those people who never had a bad thing to say about anyone, and always looked for the very best in everyone.  One of those people you knew you could count on to keep a secret, and if you needed to call her for prayer at 3am, she’d stay on the phone to sunrise if needed.  Christ in heels… that’s how I saw her.  And don’t tell me that’s disrespectful, because the Bible clearly instructs us to be imitators of Christ.  She DID THAT.

No fear.  When she met Jesus just after her final breath on Earth, I can only imagine how she reacted.  There are so many possibilities.  I’d like to believe I know how I would react, but I can’t.  I’d like to believe that when The Lord looks at me and says “Welcome Home,” that I would reply with a strong “Thank You, Lord…”  and humbly walk through the pearly gates.  But chances are that I would break down and cry my eyes out, and continue for who knows how long.  Man… What a moment!

“Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for You Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in Your presence or to my knees will I
fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all

I can only imagine”

When that day comes, and we find ourselves there is His presence, and we are ushered into His kingdom… we will have no regrets for living the “good life” in the “bad world” of Earth.  It will be the ultimate reward, but we will see it as the opportunity to eternally thank the One who gave all to make it possible.  We can only imagine the unimaginable.  Tell me it’s easy to imagine what heaven will really be like… I dare ya!  All we know is that what we can possibly imagine about it, it’s probably a billion times greater.  The Lord built the universe in 7 days… Imagine what He can build in a several thousand years!

 

“I Can Only Imagine” by “MercyMe” contributed to the composition of this story.

Leave a comment