Please Remember Me

I called my assistant today and told him to drop everything he’s doing, because there’s a change of plans for me. Since my first tour in 2006, I have worked for about 7 months and took the rest of the year off for rest, vacation, and prep for the next tour.  This time has always been crucial for my success.  It’s been my time to re-energize and catch up with the things back home.

Fuel costs were a determining factor for this current tour in 2012. While looking at 150 shows in about 60 different cities, we took many to the chopping block.  Today, all of that changes.  I will not only re-schedule those lost shows, but I intend to add even more.

In addition to what I’m adding to the current tour, I am changing the 2012 tour as well.  Where I will typically perform for about 3 days/6 shows per week for about 29-30 weeks, I intend to tour for a full 50 weeks in 2012, which will average about 5 work days, and 2 days of travel.  And actually, if you want to get technical about it… it’s really a 7 day work week, because I will spend every available day writing material for the next year’s tour.

This will mean one thing for certain… I have to say goodbye to many areas of my life.

“I’m gonna miss the simple town full of memories
I’m gonna miss just hanging out with all my friends
The rainy days and summer nights
Skipping stones by the river side
But i know.. its time to go.”

Getting to come home to Alabama would happen occasionally, but still rarely.    I’ve left before and moved to NYC to do emcee work while off tour, and it nearly drove me insane not being home.  But, I still had downtime when I was not on stage.  Even being in the city that never sleeps sometime left me bored.  So after the tour, I packed up and moved back home.  But now, my bus, Delta Airlines, and Mariotts from coast to coast will be my home.

I’ll miss my church.  I know I’m nothing more than a pew warmer, but I really love my church.  My pastor has the most amazing vision, not only for our church in general, but to see a  lost and dying world know Jesus.  I never find a church on the road that feels like home… not even close.  Chances are, with this new schedule I will never darken the doors of a strange church.  My Pastor is birthing a digital church, and I will be able to join them online while they’re worshiping live back home.

I’ll miss my two best friends.  One I never get to see anyway because of his out of town schooling, but I currently get to see the other about 2 or three times a month.  These guys have been the best friends I could ever ask for.  One I’ve known for 9 months, and the other I’ve known for 9 years.  Their families have treated me like one of their own, and it will kill me to not see them as regularly as I’d like.

“I’ve got a heart thats full of dreams
and a little bit of crazy
I can feel it pulling me to somewhere i have never been
I’m packing up and leaving home
To travel into the great unknown
Its time, i have to go.”

This was not my plan, as I mentioned before.  But, I have too much time on my hands right now, and it’s actually taking more of a toll on me than not having enough time.  The enemy is notorious for getting into my head and changing happy thoughts into unhappy ones.  Sitting around and waiting on the next show to arrive is seriously beginning to make me crazy.

So, the plan is to work so hard that there’s never any spare time for the enemy to work his way in.  Personally, I think I’ll be too tired to listen to what he’s saying anyway when this kicks into high gear.  50 weeks of touring with only one week vacation for Christmas and one in July?  How could that possibly go wrong?

“Were not guaranteed tomorrow
So we must just keep on living for the day
and make the most of every moment
every step along the way…”

I’m going to continue the blog.  I realize how much of a potential I have to reach such a large amount of people through this ministry.  Christ has been my guide on the journey, and He has led me every step of the way.  I know He will also guide me into this brand new arena where I also have the chance to meet so many people and touch those lives as well.

I want to be able to keep in contact with everyone, so please keep up with me on the blog and let me know how you’re all doing.  I won’t be able to see everyone while I am home on vacation, but my promise to all of my Alabama friends is that my tour will include at least 2 local shows each year.  You’ll be informed in advance when I’ll be in town.

“So heres goodbye heres so long
I must go and follow love
I feel my heart moving on
I must go and follow love
Carry on while I’m gone
This is what i’ve been dreaming of
I’ll miss you so
But i must go… go and follow love.”

Friends… thanks for everything!  I love you guys more than you will ever know.


Uncategorized

Leave a comment