When We All Get to Heaven

Blue sky with clouds and sun may be used as backgroundLast month held my mom’s birthday.  If she were still here with me, I would do the normal ritual of taking her to a Country Buffet and having a chocolate cake waiting at her house for when she got back home.  But instead, I left the tour for a few days so I could return home and put flowers on her grave.  This month holds her death day.  I lost mom back in 2010.  It’s had to believe its been three years already.

After she had her second stroke, I had to abandon the tour all together to be by her side as she lie helpless in the nursing home.  Many days were to painful to witness because the strokes eventually robbed her of most memories, including my identity.  I could have just been a nurse for all she knew.  But, I knew who she was, and that is all that mattered.

There were so many times that I would arrive and she was in such severe pain that all she could do is cry aloud.  Relief came when I finally brought in a CD player with select music.  There was one particular song that stands out .  When I would hit play on this track, mom would totally relax… and rest. Sometimes even smile.

“Sing the wondrous love of Jesus,
Sing His mercy and His grace;
In the mansions bright and blessed
He’ll prepare for us a place.”

My mom brought me up in a church that loved the old gospel hymns.  This tune was a regular on Sunday mornings for us.  There were many hand picked hymns on the CD I had prepared for her.  My intention was to bring her relaxation and peace.  This particular one just did something for her that no others could.

I have no idea what thoughts passed through mom’s vacant mind during this time in her life, but I like to believe that Jesus took that opportunity to speak to her… since it was easier to have her undivided attention.  I like to believe that he delivered her visions of what was soon to come for her.

“Onward to the prize before us!
Soon His beauty we’ll behold;
Soon the pearly gates will open;
We shall tread the streets of gold.”

There have been so many ideas of exactly what heaven will be like and look like.  Many are directly from scriptures, and many things are frankly quite exciting!  Mom doesn’t hurt anymore.  Al of the heartaches she endured here on earth are no longer part of her life.  Today, she just praises our Savior.

“When we all get to heaven,
What a day of rejoicing that will be!
When we all see Jesus,
We’ll sing and shout the victory!”

As I placed the flowers on the marble slab that honors her earth suit, because that’s what you are expected to do… I breathed a sigh of relief.  She’s not in that grave… she’s in heaven.  She’s with Jesus.  Not hurting… not suffering.  Worshiping.  Rejoicing.  Can you feel it?  Can you enjoy the anticipation of what’s to come?  I sure can!  I cannot wait until it’s my time to join Him!  Won’t you join us?

Leave a comment